Americas Awards 2014 Nomination Form

The Americas Award 2014 pays tribute to public officials from national and local governments which have implemented successful projects/best practices in the eight areas of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.

The UN Millennium Development Goals call to:

  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability
  8. Develop a global partnership for development

The 2014 Americas Award Ceremony will be held in the framework of the VIII Americas Competitiveness Forum.  Leaders from the 34 nations in the Americas, including Heads of State, cabinet members, business executives, trade delegates, academics, and representatives from the region’s public and private competitiveness councils, non-governmental and international organizations will be attending the 2014 Ceremony.


Based on the areas of action of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals, the Jury Committee will grant eight awards, using the following evaluation criteria:

  • achieved high levels of performance excellence/improvement,
  • demonstrated world class innovation, and
  • maintained the highest ethical standards

The Americas Award 2014 categories are described below:

  1. Poverty Reduction Leadership Award
    For reducing the poverty rate in a community
  2. Education Leadership Award
    For improving primary education coverage
  3. Gender Equality Leadership Award
    For supporting gender policies and budgeting in a tangible way
  4. Public Health Leadership Award: Child Mortality Reduction
    For public health campaigns to reduce child mortality rates
  5. Public Health Leadership Award: Maternal Health Improvement
    For public health campaigns to improve maternal health
  6. Public Health Leadership Award: HIV-AIDS Prevention and Reduction Campaigns
    For public health campaigns to fight and prevent the spread of HIV-AIDS
  7. Environmental Sustainability Leadership Award
    For preserving the environment and enhancing environmental awareness, in areas such as: landfills/methane projects, public green buildings, emission reduction, alternative energy
  8. Economic Development and Job Creation Leadership Award
    For developing successful public/private partnerships for economic development and job creation

Download the Entry Form


  1. International Training Center for Authorities and Leaders, CIFAL
  2. United Nations Institute for Training and Research, UNITAR
  3. Organization of American States, OAS
  4. Andean Development Corporation, CAF
  5. The Carter Center


  • Remarkable persons doing significant work in the Americas, particularly those who have successfully implemented programs and best practices towards the promotion of socio-economic development and the achievement of the eight United Nations Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).
  • National government officials must be representatives of ministries or national departments/agencies.
  • Local governments must belong to a city with a minimum of 500,000 inhabitants.
  • Those who wish to be considered can be nominated by development organizations, other governments or can self-nominate as long as the eligibility criteria are fulfilled.
  • A person can be nominated for any of the eight identified MDG Award categories.


  • Submissions should be made:
    • Electronically (via e-mail or the online entry form)
    • In English OR Spanish languages
  • Applicants are encouraged to include the following supportive material:
    • Social / economic / health / environmental and other indicators (before and after) that demonstrate the positive impact of the program in a particular area and timeframe
    • Articles and other publications
    • PowerPoint (PPT) presentations
    • Digital standard format videos less than 10 minutes length that evidence activities and the impact of the program
    • Photographs and other relevant graphical material
    • Promotional material


  1. The Jury receives the submissions electronically
  2. Point system valuation assessment
  3. After preliminary review, the Jury takes part in an electronic voting session
  4. The Jury only evaluates and compares projects/best practices that can show measurable outcomes and impact also based on a point system
  5. The Jury then convenes in for discussion, deliberation, and ultimate decision
  6. The Jury selects and announces the winners


  • August 25, 2014
    • Deadline to submit applications
  • September 19, 2014
    • Winners to be announced
  • October 9, 2014
    • Americas Award Ceremony in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago/li>


Interested institutions, companies and corporations are invited to sponsor the Americas Award 2014.  Sponsors will benefit from exposure during the promotional campaign of the Americas Award at the local, national and international levels.  For further information, please contact or 1-404-446-4174.